top of page
  • Writer's pictureDaniel Nobre

A look on my 3 editions from the film: RAN by; Akira Kurosawa 1985.



 

For this presentation I simply decided to take my 3 copies of the movie Ran (1985) by: Akira Kurosawa and try to show the differences between the supplements and extras that come with each one of them. I'm not an expert to talk too much about the technical aspects of each one of them. Actually I judge the 3 with good quality, but of course the new 4K UHD - Lionsgate/Studio Canal beats everyone in this regard. However I decided to compare them as they offer a better range of supplements and more comprehensive and informative booklets (probably the Criterion Collection edition is still the best). The result is this video presentation with my comments on the 3 editions: Criterion Collection - 2 DVD set discs), Lionsgate/Studio Channel - 1 blu ray disc and again Lionsgate/Studio Channel newest edition 1 4K UHD disc and another 1 blu ray disc . Also, much is said about the possibility in the future that the Criterion Colleciton will put on the market a special edition with director Akira Kurosawa's films as it happened in the past: AK 100 - 25 Akira Kurosawa's films - Ran was not in this collection. I just hope Ran will be included in another possible collection of this type.


Comments

Couldn’t Load Comments
It looks like there was a technical problem. Try reconnecting or refreshing the page.
bottom of page